Title : Millennium Series (10th issue) 
Date of Issue
170 won each 
Kim Koo, Statesman (President of the Korean Provisional Government in Shanghai, China);

March 1, 1919 Rebellion against Japanese (Independence Movement) ;

Korean Provisional Government in Shanghai, China;

The Korean National Anthem; and Composer Ahn Ik-tae

Yoon Tong-ju, poet (1917-1945) Symbol of undying resistance to foreign domination 
Kim, Soe-jong 
Stamp No.
Image Area
Sheet Composition
Korea Minting and Security Printing Corporation 
The Ministry of Information and Communication of Korea has been issuing the Millennium Stamp series since 1999 in a project designed to honor the achievements of our Korean ancestors while greeting the new millennium in a meaningful way. The 10th batch, to be released during the final year of the project, features historic events that took place prior to the nation's liberation as well as the figures who led the struggle to reclaim national integrity.

By the early 1910's the military colonial government of the Imperial Japan reinforced its brutal policy to squeeze and exploit the Korean colony as much as plausible, aggravating the already indignant rage of the Korean people to reach its apex, in terms of both scope and depth. The development along these lines triggered enthusiastic national efforts to resume national independence in and abroad alike, which accumulated and crystallized as the March 1st National Independence Movement. This vital turnaround in Korea's colonial history marked the occasion when each and every Korean in the entire Korean peninsula stood united and cried out their determination to bring back the nation's independence. Taking much-needed momentum from these developments, the Korean Interim Government was launched overseas under the central leadership of Kim Ku, one of the Korean patriots and national leaders who devoted their lives to achieving national independence once and for all. It was in 1936 that Korean composer Ahn Ik-tae wrote the current national anthem and resistant poet Yun Dong-ju wrote about the sorrow of people who lost their fatherland.

The 10th Millennium Stamp series portrays, together with a self-titled diary of Baek-beom Il-ji, the personality who solemnly swore after the nation's liberation from the Japanese political yoke. It also features the National Independence Declaration and the Korean people rallying behind the statue erected to commemorate the spirit of the March 1st Independence Movement; the headquarters of the Interim Korean Government in Shanghai, China and the kingpins of the government; Composer Ahn Ik-tae and a score he wrote, and poet Yun Dong-ju and his work entitled "Seosi".