Title : The 50th Anniversary of the National Academy of Arts, Republic of Korea
Stamp Serial#
Date of Issue
190 won 
Sanctuary of Arts 
Mo, Ji-won 
Image Area
26mm x 36mm 
Sheet Composition
4 x 5 
White unwatermarked
Printing process
and colors
Offset, six colors 
Korea Minting and Security Printing Corporation 
The year 2004 is meaningful in that it marks the 50th anniversary of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) and the National Academy of Arts (NAA).

The NAS and the NAA were founded on July 17, 1954 with the aim of contributing to the development of Korean arts and sciences by i) honoring scholars and artists who have made great achievements, either in the development of science or in the field of the creative arts; and ii) supporting their activities of research and creativity as well as the sharing of their work at home and abroad.

Composed of 150 scholars who have laid the foundation for development of the sciences and made prominent accomplishments in research, the NAS has, thus far, provided policy advice and recommendations on promoting the sciences; hosted academic seminars, policy forums, and international academic conferences; bestowed NAS Awards; and carried out other relevant activities, greatly contributing to the development of sciences in Korea. What is more, the NAS has joined various international academic organizations on behalf of the nation, and has engaged in active exchanges with the academic organizations of each nation, making enormous contributions in promoting Korean scientific achievements to the world.

In addition, the NAA represents Korean artists. The organization includes 100 artists who have dedicated their lives to creating widely recognized works of art. And since its inception, the NAA has given policy advice and recommendations on promoting the arts; supported creative activities; promoted exchanges among international and domestic artists; hosted art events; presented the NAA Awards; and vigorously carried out other related activities.

In this regard, the Korea Post is issuing two types of commemorative stamps to honor and celebrate the achievements of the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Arts, which have taken a leading role in developing the arts and sciences for the past half century.