Title : Registration of Korean Cultural Treasures as Parts of the World Heritage(2nd) 
(View Special Sheet)
Stamp Serial#
1980 
KPC#
C-1507 
MICHEL#
2008D 
StanGib#
2318 
Scott#
1953b 
Date of Issue
12/09/1998 
Quantity
1,500,000 
Denomination
380Won 
Design
Haelnsa Temple Changgyong Panjon, the Depositories for the Tripitaka Koreana Woodblocks 
Designer
Won, In-jae 
Image Area
52*36 
Perforation
13 
Sheet Composition
Special Sheet
of 12 
Paper
White unwatermarked
Print
Korea Security Printing and Minting Corporation 
Description
The people of Korea's dedication to safeguarding the nation against foreign invasions is well demonstrated in the Haeinsa Temple, and the Changgyong Panjon, the Depositories for the Tripitaka Koreana Woodblocks.

Haeinsa Temple, nestled at the foot of Kayasan Mountain, is home to the Buddhist Tripitaka Koreana, inscribed on over 80,000 wooden blocks, Pious and patriotic Korean monks painstakingly carved the Buddhist scriptures in their entirety to invoke the spiritual help of Buddha in warding off foreign invasions. Each of the 81,258 wooden blocks is inscribed using the highly advanced woodblock printing technique and refined calligraphic style of the Koryo dynasty, so uniform that one would think a single person did the entire set.

In the 15th century, the monks designed and built superb storage buildings with special attention to temperature, humidity, and ventilation controls, so that the Trlpitake Koreana was preserved in perfect condition. The architectural style employed demonstrates the advanced level of scientific understanding possessed by our ancestors. Changgyong P'anjon consists of two long buildings running north-south, and two smaller ones between them running east-west. The large buildings measure 15 kan in front. Built in 1488 during the early Chosan dynasty, all four buildings are still standing despite repeated fires that destroyed many of the temple buildings. The Sutra Depository, the southern building, was repaired in 1622 and the Dharmarata (Law Treasure) Hall, the northern building, was repaired in 1624.

Join in the patriotism of our ancestors with these stamps.